Cooking with bacteria (homemade yogurt)

A friend of mine was telling me about how her mom always makes homemade yogurt, so I became curious… I found this really nice website that tells you step by step how to do it. The only difficulty I had was getting the milk to the proper temperature in the double boiler… I think part of the problem was that I had doubled the recipe. Also I believe I need to invest in a decent milk frothing thermometer for next time.

Anyway… the last step is placing the mixture on a heating pad for seven hours, so I just left it there overnight. I was pleased to find in the morning that yogurt had actually occurred! It is thinner than what you might buy in the store but tastes much better. I added vanilla and splenda to some of it, and will add whatever fruit or topping seems good.

20120523-212645.jpg

Leave a Reply

