Almond meal Pancakes

I am lately on a quest for interesting and yummy low carb recipes, and am pretty excited about almond meal these days. It is very healthy with three grams of net carbs and six grams of protein per 1/4cup. So that means, my entire batch of pancakes had 12 grams of net carbs, divided by the amount of pancakes I ended up with… came out to be 2.6 carbs per pancake. They were filling so two was enough for me. I had them with sugar free syrup. These pancakes were easy to cook and delicious. The consistency was a little more like cornmeal pancakes, but more moist than that. I will definitely make these again.

  • 1 cup almond meal
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup water (for puffier pancakes, you can use sparkling water) (I idn’t have any so I used diet cherry 7 up!)
  • 2 T oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 T sweetener

Preparation:

Mix ingredients together and cook as you would other pancakes. I like to use a nonstick pan with a little oil. The only real difference is that they won’t “bubble” on top the same way as regular pancakes. Flip them when the underside is brown.
Net carbs: Almond meal has three net carbs per 1/4 cup…. so that means 12 carbs for the batch… divided by how many pancakes you make. The other ingredients are carb free.

20120818-110745.jpg

Leave a Reply

