Basil and Cilantro Pesto

I have been observing my poor basil plant on the deck the past couple weeks…. and I realised… something has to be done…

I asked an Italian gal at work , and she said… basil, garlic, pine nuts, olive oil, and parmesan, to make pesto. And she said I could freeze it. So here’s what I did…. I picked what basil leaves I could that were not too yellow. One ingredient called for parsley but I only had cilantro…. and my blender really sucks so I did one little ingredient at a time… but ohhhh wow so yummy. Here ya go:

Ingredients:

Three cups of some kind of mix of basil and cilantro leaves

Three ounces of pine nuts

four whole garlic cloves or two elephant garlic cloves

one cup extra virgin olive oil

3/4 cup fresh grated parmesan

and dont tell anyone but at the end I thought there was not enough greenery so I added a hearty squeeze of squeeze tube basil….

I mixed it all up, and added much to a chicken breast recipe… then the rest I smoothed into an ice cube tray and will keep for later use.

20121002-222701.jpg

20121002-222741.jpg

20121002-222808.jpg

20121002-222830.jpg

Leave a Reply

