Teriyaki Bison Steaks

I had never cooked Bison before so thought I would give it a try. It is a very lean meat, much less fat than beef, so I had heard that it is best to cook it quickly and perhaps sear it first to lock in the juices. The steaks I bought were sirloin, so required marinating first. Here is my made up recipe for Teriyaki  Sauce:

One half cup soy sauce

Juice of two freshly squeezed lemons

Two cloves diced garlic or a teaspoon of the jarred prechopped stuff

1/4 teaspoon ground ginger , although I would have used grated fresh if I had any

Dash of cayenne pepper

Two table spoons of brown sugar OR one tablespoon of Splenda plus one teaspoon molasses (low carb option)

A little water if you think it tastes too salty

I marinated the steaks for thirty minutes, then grilled them over direct heat for 5 – 6 minutes per side.  They turned out medium, and were very flavorful.  I served them with a foil wrapped packet of grilled veggies (zucchini,  mushrooms and green onions).  It was a really yummy dinner and I would definitely like to try more bison recipes.

20121009-195924.jpg

20121009-195942.jpg

3 responses to “Teriyaki Bison Steaks

  1. Pingback: 15-Minutes Mushroom Sauce (for Steaks and Mashed Potatoes) « Food Is My Life

  2. Pingback: 15-Minutes Mushroom Sauce (for Steaks and Mashed Potatoes) » Foodie Baker | Foodie Baker

Leave a Reply

