Chili with hominy and potatoes

I like to make chili once in a while, but this batch turned out particularly good and has a couple of non standard ingredients. I had a large an of hominy (look at the wiki article , its interesting) , so I threw that in there. Near the end I tasted it and realized it was too spicy for my grandkids who were coming over, so I threw in a couple of potatoes to absorb the heat. The potatoes were unexpectedly good in the chili…. I will definitely add them again next time I make this. My mom loved it , she said “This is award winning chili and you could win a contest!” Mom is so cute.

Ingredients

1.5 lb ground sirloin

One chopped large onion

One chopped green pepper

One 28 oz can hominy, drained

One 15 oz can dark red kidney beans, drained and rinsed

One 15 oz can pink beans, drained and rinsed

One 28 oz can crushed tomatoes

One 15 oz can diced tomatoes

Two medium potatoes, chopped ( I used yukon gold)

One teaspoon chipotle pepper

One tablespoon chili powder

One tablespoon caldo de tomate (tomato boullion granules)

One teaspoon sugar

One teaspoon oregano

Four cups of water (adjust to how soupy you want it)

Saute the ground beef, onion and green pepper together, drain. Add all the other ingredients and let simmer together over low to medium heat until the potatoes are done. Adjust seasoning to taste. I had available on the side chopped cilantro and shredded cheddar cheese.

20121125-175304.jpg

Leave a Reply

