Brined chicken

I have recently heard how it is a good idea to brine one’s chicken before cooking it. I looked up a couple recipes and came up with my own idea based on what I had on hand. So here goes:
Ingredients:
One half gallon Cold water
One cut up chicken
1/2 cup salt
2 tablespoons fresh rosemary
2 tablespoons fresh marjoram
2 tablespoons fresh chopped basil
1 teaspoon crushed red pepper
1 teaspoon Splenda or 2 tablespoons sugar

I use these herbs because it is what I had growing out back… You can use whatever suits your fancy!

Place the chicken pieces into the mixture of cold water herbs salt and sugar. Let it soak for three hours or so.
Then you can either grill it outside like I did, Or bake it inside in your oven. Before grilling it I did sprinkle on a little bit more seasoned salt and rubbed it with a little bit of olive oil.

It turned out very moist and delicious and everyone loved it! I will definitely be doing this again!

20130816-211643.jpg

20130816-211656.jpg

20130816-211705.jpg

Leave a Reply

