Asparagus soup… low carb!

20140222-220039.jpg20140222-220024.jpgI got this great soup idea from my fun and inspiring co worker Aviva Feldman!  I am  trying to do the low carb thing, but I love pea soup…not allowed!  She told me about this recipe she makes that turns out very pea soupish!  It is really delicious and my whole family loved it.  So here is what you do…cut up a red onion and saute it in butter in a large pot.  Add a few pounds of cut up asparagus, I used three pounds.  Cover it with broth… I used chicken broth, my friend Aviva used vegetable broth. Cook it till it is really mooshy…Then use your immersible blender and blend away to your desired consistency.  I made mine into a green mush with the occasional asparagus chunk.  At this point you can add other things if you like, like other veggies or chunks of meat.  Really a delicious soup, it will be  on my “frequently made” list.

Leave a Reply

